Jump to content
  • Those We Remember

    Bury News Feed



    On Remembrance Sunday we remember those who gave the ultimate sacrifice for their country, sovereign, families and loved ones in order that we may live our lives in freedom and safety. It is important for us all to reflect on the lives lost, the families and friends affected and those who were injured whilst serving their country.

    As a mark of respect today we take a moment to remember all those brave men and women who have lost their lives in many conflicts and wars around the world and in service to our country at home. We owe them so much in countless ways. Not only do we remember the armed services, the Army, Navy and RAF, but also the emergency services, Police, Fire and Rescue,and Ambulance Services and all those who work within the NHS and social care. We witnessed first hand the importance of those services in keeping us safe during the recent pandemic.

    We are a town with a proud history of association with the Lancashire Fusiliers and the Royal Regiment
    of Fusiliers and we are proud tocontinue that tradition here at Gigg Lane. It is four years since we were last able to gather here and remember together but today we continue the tradition of trooping the colour with Lt. Colonel Mike McDonald, Sergeant Geoff Baines (Lancashire Fusiliers Bugler), Bob Barton (Lancashire Fusiliers Standard Bearer), Janice Lloyd (Royal British Legion Standard Bearer), Llea McGowan (Royal Regiment Fusiliers Standard Bearer), Kevin Rowe (Antrim Standard Bearer), Roy Counsell (BOBVA Standard Bearer), Jacko Pearce (RAF Standard Bearer).

    We also welcome as our guests tonight veterans from the Army Royal Regiment of Artillery, 1st Royal Horse Artillery, Royal Electrical Mechanical Engineers, Royal Army Ordinance Corps, Royal Navy, Royal Air Force, Royal British Legion and widows of serving personnel who have served our country.

    We also remember those within the Bury FC family who have passed away since we were last able to gather and remember in November 2018, named below. All those we have lost are missed by their fellow supporters, family and friends. Every one is a seat left empty, a scarf unworn, a missed click of the turnstile but they have all left a legacy to this club that will be enjoyed by future generations of Shakers.


    Order of Service

    • At approx 19.30 players and officials to assemble in the tunnel, ahead of service.
    • Ceremony party to enter pitch and assemble in centre circle.
    • Lieutenant Colonel Retired Mike McDonald will carry on the match ball, and Mr Steve Fitt the wreath. Mr Steve Fitt will organise the Standard Bearers.
    • Mr Brian White, Mr Maurice Dickson and Mrs Cara Taylor will announce the Ceremony party onto the pitch.
    • “They shall grow not old, as we that are left grow old, age shall not weary them, nor years condemn. At the going down of the sun and in the morning, we will remember them.”
    • At this time, the names of the Bury FC family who have passed away will be displayed on the scoreboard.
    • The Last Post will be played by Sergeant Geoff Baines. Standards lowered.
    • The Reveille will then be played and standards raised.
    • Mr Maurice Dickson will then say, “When you go home, tell them of us and say for your tomorrows we gave our today.”
    • The attendees will then leave the pitch

    Losses in the Bury FC Family since 2018

    • Jimmy Allen
    • Colin Atkinson
    • John Atkinson
    • Ken Ash
    • Phil Astley
    • Brian Bancroft
    • Brian Barlow
    • Bob Bell
    • Colin Bell
    • Derek Bentley
    • Alice Berry
    • Geoff Bernstein
    • Anthony Boardman
    • Eric Brand
    • Stuart Brand
    • Cliffe Broome
    • Neville Brooks
    • Peter Brown
    • Horace Brown
    • Eric Brand
    • Margret Burke
    • Tom Burke
    • Paul Carter
    • Mark Crossley
    • Alan Caulderbank
    • Bill Caulder
    • Geoffry Cawte
    • Eddie Colquhoun
    • Fred Cowburn
    • Ellie Clegg
    • Monica Cullen
    • Donald Cunliffe
    • Alex Dawson
    • James Dean
    • Matt Durnam
    • Ann Eckersall
    • Dave Evans
    • Douglas Evans
    • Arthur Evans
    • Paul Evans
    • Martin Farnworth
    • Mandy Freeman
    • Martyn Forrest
    • Michael Garrett
    • Bob Gerrard
    • Dave Giffard
    • Malcolm Gray
    • Alan Green
    • Tom Harkinson
    • Henry Hayes
    • Will Hayhurst
    • Roger Heywood
    • Margaret Holden
    • Brian Howcroft
    • Paul Hince
    • Derek Holt
    • Edmond Howard
    • Mick Hoyle
    • Maria Hurst
    • Kenny Hulme
    • Preston Hulse
    • Isla Hutton
    • David Isherwood
    • Lenny Johnrose
    • John King
    • Gerald Lewis
    • Jacqueline Melia
    • Peter Melling
    • Minty Macy
    • Stefan Madej
    • Miriam Makin
    • Gill Mansley
    • Paul McCormick
    • Jack Metcalfe
    • Derek Middleton
    • Dave Morley
    • Noel Nash
    • Sandra Nugent
    • Philip Pidluski
    • Mike Pinder
    • Holly Prince
    • Stanley Reynolds
    • Peter Rigby
    • Johnny Robinson
    • Jim Royds
    • Mark Saunders
    • Ian Scholes
    • Colin Slater MBE
    • Arthur Smith BEM
    • Barry Simpson
    • Raymond Smith
    • John Stansfield
    • John Stembridge
    • David Swain
    • Peter Swann
    • Steve Taylor
    • Ella Warburton
    • Richard Warburton
    • Stan Warburton
    • Hilary Walton
    • Jane Weedon
    • Harry Wilkinson
    • Tom White
    • Dave Wylie

    #ShakersTogether | #BuryFC | #LestWeForget

    View the full article


  • Create New...